Abbey Online shop

Sebastian Wolff Organ Works


Sebastian Wolff – Organ works played at Buckfast Abbey by Jeremy Filsell

Father Sebastian Wolff has been a monk at the Devon Monastery of Buckfast since 1948 and has dedicated his life to its ongoing work and worship. His duties as organist to the community in its regular cycle of prayer and liturgy, and the undeniable beauty of the Abbey church, have both over the years inspired the creation of his music.

Track Listing –

1 – Fantasia and Fugue in D major
2 – Advent Chorale
3 – Prelude: O come, O come Emmanuel
4 – Trio: Lo, he comes with Clouds descending
5 – Prelude on the Somerset Carol
6 – Chorale Partita: Unto us is born a Son
7 – Chorale on a melody by Orlando Gibbons
8 – Prelude: Our Father, which art in heaven
9 – Nocturne
10 – Prelude: Come, Holy Ghost
11 – Prelude: Most ancient of all mysteries
12 – Processional
13 – Adagio and Fugue on ‘Liebster Immanuel’
14 – Chorale: O Sacred Head sore wounded
15 – Fanfare for Easter Day
16 – Processional: Jesus Christ is risen today
17 – Trio: At the Lamb’s high feast
18 – Chorale Partita: Christ the Lord is risen again
19 – Carillon (Hommage a Mulet et Vierne)

Total Running Time – 63.14

Year Recorded – 1999